Bucket list of Books: Wild and Wonderful Origami

Wild and Wonderful Origami by Mari Ono and Roshin Ono has found us making storks, snakes, seals and robins this half term holiday. Bought for only £4 from The Book People, it includes all the paper you need to make the origami and wonderfully creative images of the finished pieces ‘in situ’ – crows on the telephone lines, snakes in the desert, monkeys hanging from a tree branch.

I’ve found that Harper, aged 8, can easily while away an hour or so with this book only with the occasional “look what I’ve made!” shout out. He likes the clear instructions and I enjoy the fact that the book gives the Japanese names for the animals and talks about how ‘every origami model you’ve made has a value that no amount of money can replace – every time you create you’re actually giving something of yourself’ which sounds like a wise Japanese proverb.

20140223-123608.jpg
20140223-123627.jpg
20140223-123640.jpg
20140223-123714.jpg20140223-123648.jpg
20140223-123706.jpg
20140223-123722.jpg
20140223-123730.jpg

3 thoughts on “Bucket list of Books: Wild and Wonderful Origami

  1. This looks amazing and just the sort of book I’d like myself! I’ve been daydreaming about learning origami for a while now – never mind the kids – I’m going to get this for myself! x

    • Good idea… I think some of them are possibly a bit more difficult for an 8 year old, so dive in! We also have another book by the same authors, Origami for Children, which I’ll review soon.

Leave a Reply

